top of page

The Oscars and what happened

Written by Keionna


To those not familiar with the actions that took place that evening. Chris Rock, who was handing out the prize for the best documentary said “Jade , can’t wait for GI Jane 2”, referencing her bald look as a result of her condition called alopecia. Will Smith, then walked on the stage and struck Rock, returning to his seat as he shouted “"Keep my wife's name out of your [expletive] mouth." In his subsequent acceptance speech, the actor expressed regret to his fellow nominees as well as the Academy, though he did not address the Rock the rest of the evening.


The “King Richards” actor was later seen releasing an apology to the comedian,in which he wrote, “Violence in all of its forms is poisonous and destructive. My behavior at last night’s Academy Awards was unacceptable and inexcusable. Jokes at my expense are part of the job, but a joke about Jada’s medical condition was too much for me to bear and I reacted emotionally,” Smith wrote. “I would like to publicly apologize to you, Chris. I was out of line and I was wrong. I am embarrassed and my actions were not indicative of the man I want to be. There is no place for violence in a world of love and kindness.”


Zoe Kravtiz,who was a part of the audience inside the Hollywood Dolby Theatre witnessed the slap that stunned millions.She has been hit with massive backlash, with the Internet spewing hateful commentary to the “Batman” actress when she shared her disapproval in an Instagram post writing, “here’s a picture of my dress at the show where we are apparently assaulting people on stage now.”


The Internet was quick to regard this condemnation by digging into Kravtiz’s murky past and showing the comments she made about Smith’s son “Jaden” when the duo starred in After Earth together, when he was aged 14 and she was 24.


When asked about Jaden in an old interview with “V Magazine” for their 2013 interview. The “Kimi” actress said “'There were moments that I was hanging out with Jaden and thinking, I can't believe you're 14, I have to check myself, like what I say to you.'

'He has so much personality and so much swag, he is so much cooler than I am. And he's so handsome, I was always like, when you're older, you know, we'll hang out…Nope, that's inappropriate, you're 14.”.



 

Written by Keionna,

@keionnac on instagram.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page